Home

★★★★★

This particular recipe is one of my new favorites. It can be used on several different dishes, but I drizzled it on the Cilantro Turkey Sliders and The Potato and Veggie Curry. The mix caused my tastebuds to throw a party. YAY party. I like creamy. I like cilantro. I like sauces. I love a good party.

Creamy Cilantro Sauce:

  • 4 oz cream cheese (a soft un-aged cheese that has no triggers in it)
  • 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1/8 cup 2% milk
  • 1 tsp honey or agave sweetener
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/8 cup finely chopped cilantro

Directions: 

Put the milk in a small sauce pan and begin heating on low. Cut up the cream cheese into small squares and stir into the sauce pan. Bring up the temperature slightly and whisk together constantly until the cream cheese is melted. Lift off the burner if it begins to even slightly stick to the pan because milk has a tendency to burn easily. On the other hand, if it isn’t melting the cream cheese slowly turn up the heat slightly and keep whisking. Once its pretty much melted add the apple cider vinegar and the honey. Keep on whisking. Add salt or the flavor of the honey will be too obvious. When the consistency is rich and creamy, stir in the cilantro. If it is too thick add a little more milk, or too thin add a little more cream cheese. Set aside to cool.

Avoid:  Oils, onions, aged vinegars, mayonnaise, sour cream, wine, additives, citrus, hot peppers if it is a trigger. Avoid too much vinegar.

Disclaimer: Please let me know if there is in fact a headache trigger food in my ingredients (that does not include gluten or dairy allergy induced headaches).  If you are just beginning any new diet, otc medicine, or physical regimen, speak to a health professional or doctor. I am not anything of the sort. From my home page you can click on the disclaimer or About me for more information.

UPDATE: I have a new twitter account: food4myhead. Check it out for updates. See my corresponding Pinterest Page This dish while different, was inspired greatly by a pin I saw on pinterest. Pinterest is one great way to gather recipes you enjoy and share them with others. I include information about food and cooking as well as others recipes that can become trigger free.

6 thoughts on “Cilantro Dipping Sauce

  1. Pingback: Cilantro Sliders (dipping sauce next post) | Food for my Head

  2. Pingback: Potato and Veggie Curry (Turkey optional) | Food for my Head

  3. Pingback: My thumbs are turning green. | Lovely WildFlower

  4. Pingback: Baked #Samosas #migraine trigger free | Food for my Head

  5. Pingback: Baked Samosas | Food for my Head

  6. Pingback: Baked Cilantro Ginger Chicken | Food for my Head

Leave a Reply

